[Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

vtty0
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:51

by vtty0 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 13:06

Shadowmang wrote:Can you rehost the files? perhaps on ompldr.org or github. because mediafire won't let me access it

me too can't get files (
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Fri Oct 26, 2012 18:30

Looking at the license, I think it's no problem if I put the zip here for a while.

Edit: Post 1 link works again.
Last edited by Topywo on Sat Nov 10, 2012 19:35, edited 1 time in total.
 

vtty0
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:51

by vtty0 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 15:21

Hello, Topywo.
Thanks too much, friend!
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

by Dragonop » Sat Oct 27, 2012 19:28

i can't download it D:
It's "Drag" for the friends.

Sorry I haven't been online as much lately, I'm real busy.
https://forum.minetest.net/download/file.php?id=4472
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Sat Oct 27, 2012 20:01

Dragonop wrote:i can't download it D:

Added value of using shitty file hosting sites ;)
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

by Dragonop » Sat Oct 27, 2012 20:20

Dragonop wrote:
i can't download it D:
Added value of using shitty file hosting sites ;)

hahahahaha
It's "Drag" for the friends.

Sorry I haven't been online as much lately, I'm real busy.
https://forum.minetest.net/download/file.php?id=4472
 

Temperest
Member
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Sat Oct 27, 2012 20:20

Look a post or two higher, it's been rehosted on DropBox...
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

by Dragonop » Sat Oct 27, 2012 20:22

ok
It's "Drag" for the friends.

Sorry I haven't been online as much lately, I'm real busy.
https://forum.minetest.net/download/file.php?id=4472
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Nov 10, 2012 19:08

Is download from mediafire still not working for you?
I've Just tried and it did work for me without beeing logged in.
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Sat Nov 10, 2012 19:36

I just tried, it works.
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sat Jan 05, 2013 00:44

bump ... is anyone still using this mod?
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2889
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Sat Jan 05, 2013 03:36

I do believe that alongside the new trees of the L-System's tree generation, this can look rather nice. You could even use the tree generator of the L-System to tweak the trees of this mod in the future.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

by addi » Sat Jan 05, 2013 09:50

no L System!!!!!!

please keep this mod!!!!!!

this is realy nice and L-systems dont work with 0.4.3!!!

and i didnt like the 0.4.4 game
its too buggy
laggy carts,

Please keep this mod working on 0.4.3!!!!!
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:52

addi wrote:no L System!!!!!!

please keep this mod!!!!!!

this is realy nice and L-systems dont work with 0.4.3!!!

and i didnt like the 0.4.4 game
its too buggy
laggy carts,

Please keep this mod working on 0.4.3!!!!!

1st: 0.4.4 has many bugfixes.
2nd: carts are not part of the default game.
 

4aiman
Member
 
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 05:47

by 4aiman » Sat Jan 05, 2013 15:45

I do not see why L-System and this can coexist ;)
Just create some other trees... IDK... Lets call their trunk nodes a "simple_tree" or a "growing_tree" of smth like that.
That way we could use new L-system trees in the biomes like "woods" or "jungle" and your simple, yet nice, trees for the "plains" or "orchard" biomes. Small trees with apples are just rigth :)
Could you update this mod in this way?
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

by sapier » Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:16

4aiman: any element of growing trees is already a special nodes they just drop default nodes if you dig them in order to avoid bloating up game by differend sorts of wood
DON'T mention coding style!
(c) sapier all rights reserved
 

User avatar
Mossmanikin
Member
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 16:26

by Mossmanikin » Fri May 24, 2013 06:30

Testing this mod right now.
Love it so far!

Noob 4 life!
My stuff
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

by dgm5555 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 09:52

I'm using minetest 0.4.9, and growing_trees 0.0.9
I have been running growing_trees in a world for a perhaps 5 hours in real time (whatever that is in minetest time). However the world now seems to have developed a glitch. This only occurs when the growing_trees.mod is enabled, and can be resolved by disabling growing trees (which unfortunately leaves tree-shaped blocks of unknown nodes around the place)
The first thing is minetest never(?) exits, but sits with a 'shutting down stuff' message which is present much longer than my patience (>10mins).
It has also caused the world borders to get severely restricted to a very small area around the spawn point (perhaps a few hundred nodes in each direction x,y,z with extensions around the trees, and I can't move past that initial boundary. Within that space are a few (probably) maximally sized growing trees. If I turn off the _trees I can go where there are none, exit normally, enable _trees, restart (where there are no trees), and come back, I can travel in and out of the zone normally with no apparent restrictions on world size.
The space changes exact nodes, but are roughly similar in size. The jpg shows the edges of the world, I am at maximal flying height pressed against one of the invisible 'walls' (ie it won't let me fly any higher or further away)
Image
Last edited by dgm5555 on Sat Apr 26, 2014 07:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

bajanhgk
Member
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 16:31
In-game: bajanhgk

by bajanhgk » Thu Apr 17, 2014 15:21

a tree which i can do a house treehouse style
Last edited by bajanhgk on Thu Apr 17, 2014 15:21, edited 1 time in total.
Just a Loner In the Winds which Blow Endlessly towards Death
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by sapier » Thu May 01, 2014 14:43

dgm5555 do I understand correct that your problem is your world stops loading and you can't close minetest once this happens?
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Tue May 06, 2014 13:33

@sapier: yes - it essentially freezes the world and won't draw or allow access beyond those limited boundaries (but works fine within the boundary). If you disabled the trees then moved elsewhere it reocurred when you re-enabled them and returned to that location (or similar with some growing trees in it). Minetest also never shut down when attempting to exit.
Just a thought: I never tried teleporting out to see what happened, I'll give it a go sometime...
 

sapier
Member
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 18:17

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by sapier » Tue May 06, 2014 20:11

sounds like some sort of endless loop triggered, sorry but I didn't have time to check yet
 

Zeppelin
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 16:27

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Zeppelin » Wed May 27, 2015 16:40

sapier wrote:sounds like some sort of endless loop triggered, sorry but I didn't have time to check yet

i've checked the source and found something, that worked for me:

file branch_functions.lua line 145:
Code: Select all
 if not contains(branch,value) and

does'nt work like expected and so i replaced it with the following line ...
Code: Select all
 if not contains_pos(branch,value) and


... and wrote a new function to do the right check:
Code: Select all
function contains_pos(branch, value)
  for _, element in pairs(branch) do
    growing_trees_debug("verbose","Growing_Trees: testing " .. printpos(value) .. "(" .. dump(value) .. ") vs " .. printpos(element) .. " evals " .. dump((printpos(value) == printpos(element))))
    if printpos(value) == printpos(element) then
      return true
    end
  end
  return false
end


sorry for reactivating this old thread
 

Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
In-game: Diamondknight or diamond_knight

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Diamond knight » Sun May 31, 2015 16:45

Code: Select all
:default:tree
you could always overide the default trees to become the new trees
I can never get enough MESE!!!!!!!!!

my subgame: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=11901
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 07:44

Zeppelin wrote:i've checked the source and found something, that worked for me:

Thanks I'll give it a try thou haven't used minetest much recently. I've always been a bit sad growing trees didn't work for larger worlds.
 

dgm5555
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 19:45

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by dgm5555 » Sat Jun 20, 2015 09:21

Cool, with a quick test it seems that it's not freezing like it used to.
However while watching them, I noticed the leaf nodes appear and disappear every few seconds, so the tree looks a bit like christmas lights blinking. Is there any way to change this so they only appear and disappear slowly like a normal tree?
EDIT: looks like that can be adjusted in abms.lua at then end is the growing and removing leaves which I think is better slowed down. from line 272,273 I changed to:-
Code: Select all
       interval = 25,
        chance = 60,


I also didn't like the default trunk texture which meant the ends of branches looked like they'd been cut off, so I edited lines 16-23 in nodes.lua to eliminate the _top texture:
Code: Select all
local textures_trunk = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xx = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_zz = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xpzp = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xmzm = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xmzp = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}
local textures_branch_xpzm = {"default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png", "default_tree.png", "default_tree.png","default_tree.png"}

 

Zeppelin
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 16:27

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Zeppelin » Sat Aug 01, 2015 19:37

dgm5555 wrote:Cool, with a quick test it seems that it's not freezing like it used to.

good to know

is it possible to update the repository or have someone to fork it?
 

Murkle
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 02:56

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Murkle » Wed Mar 30, 2016 03:30

This is a Great mod so far, I do want to know if I increase the growth rate, if so, how do I do so?
-Murkle
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by addi » Sun Jun 12, 2016 08:48

Do you still work on it?

If yes, I have 2 bugs:
WARNING[Server]: Undeclared global variable "current_node" accessed at ...\mods\growing_trees/branch_functions.lua:287

and some nodes (looks like leaves) from the tree does not decay and are not burnable.
 

User avatar
Kreaton
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 16:46
IRC: Kreatons Kreaton
In-game: Kreaton Kreatons

Re: [Mod] growing trees [0.0.9] [growing_trees]

by Kreaton » Sat Jan 07, 2017 23:56

What do I do when this happens, I've got no idea what any of this means.
http://imgur.com/a/V2bQS
Kreaton: accusative singular present nominal passive participle of krei
 

PreviousNext

Return to Old Mods

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron